How To Delete All Data From A BlackBerry

February 26, 2009

If you ever need to completely wipe your data from your BlackBerry – perhaps it is being exchanged, or you are giving it to someone else (why?) – but are not keen on going through every section and deleting email, contacts etc manually then read on.

First, make sure you have backed up everything using the Desktop Manager software that comes in the box. You can also download it from RIM’s web site.

Once you are happy that you have a full back up, go to Applications>Options>Security Options>General Settings and then prees the Application button. There should be an option to “Wipe Handheld”.

If you select this option you can then choose whether to wipe any 3rd party applications you have installed or not. You must then click ok and it will, after a warning that you will lose all data, ask you to confirm by typing in the word “blackberry” without the quotes.

When it is done “wiping” your data it will re-boot and you device is now as it was out of the box and ready to exchange, or sell on eBay etc.

Be warned though, you WILL lose  ALL data so only follow the above instructions if that is what you want.

David

 

Comments

No Comments Yet.

Got something to say?





Featured Section #1

This area is a featured section on the homepage where you can write about your website. Here you can highlight what's new or other things which are important to your site visitors.
Continue reading »

Featured Section #2

This area is a featured section on the homepage where you can write about your website. Here you can highlight what's new or other things which are important to your site visitors.
Continue reading »

Powered by Yahoo! Answers